ashley avenue

a journey to healthy balance

let’s recap the weekend… November 22, 2010

Filed under: breakfast,my life,Sermons,working out — ansauls @ 2:37 am

hey y’all! so excited for all the encouragement i’ve received from the blog community so far. again, it’s an amazing group of women! Gina, Caitlin, Kath, and Erica especially have been so sweet!

Friday began with P90X with some gym friends at 5 a.m. then teaching BodyPump at 6 a.m. I have never done P90X before and have always wanted to try it. The group I worked out with was a group of guys who pushed me to work hard, but I hung in there! My Pump class was great. It’s not easy to wake up that early, but the group I teach makes it worth it! P90X was a good workout, but I didn’t sweat as much as I would have liked.

a previous BodyPump launch

Later Friday afternoon, I traveled to Chapel Hill to visit my little sister (and best friend)!

We walked down Franklin St. trying to decide what we were in the mood to eat, read tons of menus, and ended up at Carolina Brewery because of atmosphere and price. I TOTALLY splurged and had a burger, which I have been craving and can’t remember the last time I ate, with sweet potato chips sprinkled with brown sugar, and the Copperline Amber Ale. So yummy! My body’s been telling me to eat unhealthy lately after eating clean flawlessly for a few months. Does anyone else experience this? I need advice on how to handle it. We finished the meal with a stroll to Yogurt Pump, our favorite! I’m addicted to frozen yogurt and stop any chance I can. I have a small cake cone with half cake batter/half vanilla with rainbow sprinkles.

an earlier trip to YoPo as we affectionately call it

Saturday, I woke up to a breakfast cookie I had made the day before to bring with  me to Chapel Hill. It’s a recipe that I stole from Gina. This is the perfect quick breakfast for when you don’t have much time in the morning or are on the go. It’s such a life saver! It included:

  • 1/2 scoop of chocolate protein powder
  • 2 tbsp of almond milk
  • 1/2 smashed banana
  • toppings: goji berries, cacao nibs, the rest of my banana

so yummy!

My sister and I went to Open Eye Cafe for yummy, dark coffee…perfect and necessary start to the day. It is such a cool coffeehouse with an interesting, ecclectic vibe, and they really focus on local products, which I love.

Then I went to Dancers for Cancer, 2 glorious hours of Zumba and BodyJam (a Les Mills program) to benefit the Cancer Center of North Carolina (I’m in the front with pink tank top and gray crops). It was an amazing and sweaty experience filled with booty shakin’ and a few tears as we danced for survivors or in honor of ladies who’ve lost their battles.

 I danced for our family friend, Judy Sanchez, who has bravely overcome her battle.

me and Judy at Halloween

After sweating it out, I ran some errands and ended up at lululemon. It was my first time! The ladies were SO helpful! I figured out the I LOVE the Groove Crop, Flo Y bra, and the 50 rep bra. I’m going to have to make a wishlist until I start making more money, but they were all so comfortable. I also learned all about the TaTa Tamer and that I don’t have enough tatas to tame to need that ;).

Churchwas amazing this week, literally a “To: Ashley From: God” sermon about patience and waiting on His timing based on David’s story in 1 Samuel.

Today was full of football, family, and fun. I ran errands, met the family at Carrabba’s for lunch, did some Christmas shopping (I can’t help myself!) and grocery shopping for Thanksgiving!!!! Lunch was Chicken Bryan with green beans and the mediterranean salad…and half of my favorite ” sogno di cioccolata.” I finished the other half of the dessert for dinner that I had with a piece of leftover mahi mahi and broccoli, a honeycrisp apple and some red grapes. I really felt like I needed some fruit. Now I’m sippin’ on some “sticky buns” flavored coffee and winding down.

Thanks for reading.

Love,

me

 

2 Responses to “let’s recap the weekend…”

  1. Erica Says:

    Sounds like you had a really great weekend! I teach pump at 545 on Monday mornings and it IS early- but boy is that group committed! Plus its nice to get the workout out of the way. That is so sweet that you and your sister are besties- love that!


Leave a Reply

