ashley avenue

a journey to healthy balance

Family + Friends + Fun + Football + (Black) Friday November 27, 2010

Filed under: breakfast,my life,nut butter,oatmeal — ansauls @ 3:01 am
Tags: ,

Happy Black Friday!

Let’s recap yesterday as I did not even make it to my computer yesterday with all the fun festivities of friends and family; cheering on the Patriots, Saints/Cowboys (I like both teams and just wanted an excellent game, which it was!), and the Jets; and, of course, cooking.

I had to begin the day with Thanksgiving oatmeal

                    

 

Then, a new tradition on our household as of last year, MIMOSAS while we cook! Just a little big girl OJ for breakfast 😉

Cooking commenced. My Mom and my sister cooking away. I didn’t get a picture of me in my lime green damask apron.

This year was challenging and fun for me because I made my own meal in “eat clean” fashion because my body does not digest processed food well. Thanks for several of my blog inspirations, I scoured recipes and put together…

My menu included: Gina’s sweet potato casserole, green bean casserole, stuffing (with Great Harvest stuffing bread insted of Ezekiel bread), and cranberry sauce, and my own broccoli casserole (broccoli, brown rice, and cheddar Daiya. I also made pumpkin cornbread. It was interesting explaining to everyone why I had different food and how important eating real, clean food is important to me. The men in my family smoked turkey and brisket, and Mom baked turkey in the oven after an overnight brining.

Then the desserts came out…

pumpkin pie, Thanksgiving pie (pumpkin and pecan), lemon pie, Mama’s chocolate eclair, oreo dessert, ooey gooey butter cake with a twist from Paula Deen’s recipe. Everything was amazing!

At the end of the day, I felt great. I did get a good work-out in, but decided to take today off because…shopping!!!!!!

It’s a tradition that Mom and I get up at 3 a.m. and head out to shop. Even though we had an early start, I had a breakfast cookie in a black cup with a black spoon ready to go:

  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/2 scoop of chocolate protein powder
  • 1 tbsp Naturally More
  • 2 tbsp almond milk
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 1 oz of goji berries
  • sliced other half of banana on top

 

We have no agenda, just spending time together and seeing what we see. We got to the mall around 4:30 a.m., tried on shoes…

…and had a blast! The day was the perfect shopping weather: 60s and rainy. We got home around 6 p.m. Now we are eating leftovers and sitting around with friends. Everything tastes even better on Day 2!

How was your Thanksgivng? How did you spend Black Friday?

 

One Response to “Family + Friends + Fun + Football + (Black) Friday”

  1. Erica Says:

    Sounds like the food and the shopping were both great! Those are some fun shoes! We did a little shopping yesterday. I only got a few things- mostly Christmas gifts- but it was still fun 🙂


Leave a Reply

