ashley avenue

a journey to healthy balance

Adventures in Biltmore…and beyond! December 2, 2010

Filed under: breakfast,Fashion,nut butter,oatmeal,working out — ansauls @ 1:57 pm
Tags: ,

Hey y’all! Dinner with my girls was a BLAST! We went to Neo Cantina for mexican (our tradition). I had a mango chicken salad (citrus marinated chicken over baby greens with mango salsa, avocado, and red onion). I had it without queso fresco and had it served dry because the mango salsa was the perfect dressing. On the side, a cup of black bean soup (with carrots, onions, and chipotle chiles).

It was delish…and just filling enough, not too full. My other girlfriends had fish tacos and veggie fajitas, which also received rave reviews! Also, this restaurant served tri-color chips and both red and green salsa upon arrival. I didn’t try any, but the girls LOVED them! I like having more options than regular flour tortillas and red salsa.

I came back to the hotel and snuck down to the fireplace that I discovered snooping the day before to curl up with my book…and my new boots 😉 (big Black Friday purchase…LOVE them!). I was thankful for the boots during the icky weather on day 1 and for warmth on the chilly day 2.

The hotel is decorated for Christmas…I am such a sucker for pretty decorations. After reading, I walked around the hotel to admire them.

After an hour or so of reading and snooping walking around, I had a hankering for something sweet. Then, this beauty came into view…

…a chocolate covered Granny Smith apple sprinkled with the famous Double Tree cookie. It was a great mix of crunchy/sweet/sour. Double Tree gives you a cookie at check-in, but I was saving it. 😉

Day 2 in Asheville was absolutely incredible! I kept having to pinch myself to make sure it was real 😉 I scored a free ticket to the Biltmore Estate grounds from my Mom’s company (Wells Fargo), so I took them up on it! I got up, ate breakfast (I pre-made oats for this morning as well so that I could save money on breakfast and splurge on lunch), 



I made sure that I could bring 2 OIAJ for the trip. The mix in my Naturally More jar this morning:

  • 2 Tbsp Naturally More leftover
  • 1/6 cup oats, almond milk, water, greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 smashed banana
  • sprinkled salt and cinnamon
  • toppings: Eat Clean “Morning Glory” muffin, leftover cranberry sauce from Thanksgiving (leftover post to come), 1/2 sliced banana

It was nice to have Wolfgang Puck along for day 2 as well. Then I worked out on the crosstrainer for an hour, showered, checked out, and headed to the castle  Biltmore 😉

 

I was already getting hungry at 10:15 a.m., so I had a little snack. I always travel with these!

I got to Antler Hill Village at 10:30-ish, so I figured it was a little early for a wine tasting 😉 (hey, it’s 5:00 somewhere, right?!), so I went to my favorite store on property.

They have the most beautiful collections of dishes, jewelry, candles, lotion,…very girly! Sorry, guys! Confession: I love beautiful things, and I’m working on it :(.

They also have a selection of jewelry from Sex and the City 2. My favorite piece is Sarah Jessica Parker’s necklace (below), but it was gone :(. I’d seen it there back in the summer and drooled.

[Source]

Oh well, it’s on to the farm to play with the animals. I grew up on a farm, and you can take the girl out of the country, but you can’t take the country out of the girl.



How cute are they?! Is it time for wine yet? YES!!!!

More to come soon…get ready. It’s about to get out of control!

 

One Response to “Adventures in Biltmore…and beyond!”

  1. Erica Says:

    Glad you’re having fun 🙂 Mexican is always delicious- and black bean soup is the BEST! A chocolate covered Granny Smith apple? What a great treat. Keep the pics coming!


Leave a Reply

