ashley avenue

a journey to healthy balance

It’s beginning to look (and feel) a lot like Christmas! December 5, 2010

Filed under: breakfast,Fashion,nut butter,oatmeal — ansauls @ 1:45 am
Tags:

Look what showed up at my house…

…meet me under the mistletoe!

And ta daaaaaaaaahhhhh! My new Christmas bowl and tumbler. Breakfast is SO much more fun in cute dishes.

Breakfast was bold, strong, dark “half caf” coffee with oats, a mix of:

  • 1/3 cup oats, water, almond milk, greek yogurt
  • 1 Tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 smashed banana
  • toppings: 1/3 leftover honey oat bran muffin from Mimi’s Cafe, 1 Tbsp Trader Joe’s pumpkin butter, 1 Tbsp Naturally More, 1/2 sliced banana

I did 1 hour of the treadclimber, BodyPump, and power yoga and was hungry for some lunch! I continued the soup-n-salad kick I’ve been on. I had 1/2 can of Amy’s soup topped with extra plain black beans, the other half of my salad from Mimi’s doctored up with carrots, hummus, edamame, and sliced cucumber. For dessert, I had a side of leftover sweet potato casserole from Thanksgiving. I ate it cold, which sounds weird, but I like sweet potatoes cold sometimes; it tastes like pie filling 😉

After a few hours, I was hungry for a snack, then someone knocked on the door, I answered, and it was the mail lady  Santa’s elf who delivered a wonderful gift…

I participated in Itzy’s  Kitchen’s Blogger Baked Goods Exchange. Clare got my name and sent me the BEST gift ever. Not only did she send gluten-free, dairy-free chocolate cranberry cookies that are to die for, but she sent the sweetest notes and other Christmas goodies as well!

Like this gingerbread mug! I LOVE mugs! Thank-you SO much, Clare! You are the best. I dove right in! Hunger…conquered!

Y’all, seriously, if people think that you can’t make friends in blog world, they’re NuTs! These girls are amazing and have become some of my greatest inspirations. I truly love y’all!

Then, I had to run to get dressed for my event I told y’all about…the Santa Ball. This is what came down…

I have to show y’all my shoes. I’m a sucker for bows!

It was an event at Union Tavern to benefit the Boys and Girls Club of Wake County. We donated toys, had wine and local food from Raleigh. I went alone just to meet and mingle. I met some interesting people and had a good time. The food was sub-par, so I had to eat “dinner” once I got home.

My Santa Ball plate, plus some grapes and strawberries that arrived later…and a glass of red wine. Then, I had my picture taken with Santa!

Hey, a girl is never too old to sit on Santa’s knee!

Friday began with getting up at 4 a.m. to meet my Insanity group for a 5 a.m. work-out, then I taught BodyPump at 6 a.m. I came home, re-grouped, met with a girl from my old small group, then worked on some blog stuff at Barnes & Noble over lunch.

I had Gina’s mac-n-cheese (whole wheat rotini, almond milk, cayenne pepper, salt and peppa, Daiya) over spinach, with roasted red pepper hummus over celery, cucumber, and carrots.

It’s SNOWING now, which is a big deal for us in this area. Don’t you worry, pictures are coming, along with a fun trip down memory lane…80s style!

Quote of the day: “Take time to be in the moment and enjoy each other, rather than worrying about extra dessert or missed gym time. Remember that in the grand scheme of things, it will all balance out.” ~ Gina

 

4 Responses to “It’s beginning to look (and feel) a lot like Christmas!”

  1. Erica Says:

    Mistletoe? How fun is that! What a GREAT package. I am loving how everyone went all out for the exchange!! I am baking for my blogger now!! Your dress and shoes are adorable. We have a dressy Christmas party Friday- I need to go shopping

    • ansauls Says:

      Yeah, maybe I’ll get lucky with the mistletoe 😉 The exchange is such a blast! We should all do more things like that. I just finished baking and getting my package all fixed up. Thanks for the compliments. I wish we could go shopping together!

  2. Katie T Says:

    How fun is this blog?! Love reading through it and seeing everything you’re up to – I may have to steal a few of the recipes, too…thanks for sharing 🙂 Can’t wait to see you soon!! OH, and you looked GORGEOUS at the Santa Ball – can’t wait to hear all about it. xoxo!

  3. […] since no meal is complete without dessert…2 “Clare” cookies and coffee by our Santa […]


Leave a Reply

