ashley avenue

a journey to healthy balance

The Nightmare Before Christmas…Zombies December 7, 2010

Hey y’all! So this southern girl is way too chilly already. I’m sitting in front of the fire as I write this.

Today was crazy. I spent most of my afternoon on the phone with an IT guy about my computer because I somehow got a “zombie” (technical talk, he said). I hate computer viruses.

Anyway, I can finally post! Breakfast this morning was oats with a twist…dessert for breakfast, anyone?

In the mix:

  • 1/4 cup oats, almond milk, water, non-fat greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp chia seeds and Trader Joe’s peanut flour
  • 1/2 smashed banana
  • toppings: a chocolate cranberry cookie crumbled up, 1 Tbsp leftover cranberry sauce from Thanksgiving, 1 Tbsp Naturally More, 1/2 sliced banana

I love dessert for breakfast! Hey, life is short!

Side note: I am interested in trying new nut butters…any suggestions? I’ve read about several other brands, but I’m on a budget and don’t want to waste money on a jar that is not worth it. Any advice is much appreciated!

I tried to be producted while I was on hold for 2 hours with my computer, so I read a new book I bought called “Recipes for Healthy Bliss.” It’s an EXCELLENT book of recipes, why eating clean is good for you, and has so much research that I wish I’d known sooner. I figured out a lot of what works for my body the hard way…trial and error. This book was such a great find, and I recommend it for anyone who is ready to make changes to their lifestyle to become healthier as a Christmas gift.

The book has insets of different foods and why they are good for you. I am so interested in different foods that I have not tried yet and how to cook them. As a PA one day, I hope to incorporate nutrition in my treatment plans, so I ate this up (no pun intended). Plus, it has pretty pictures 😉 I am feeling so inspired to grocery shop after reading the book today. I’m feeling a Whole Foods run in the near future.

I did RPM, BodyPump, and BodyFlow this morning as my workout. Lunch was an un-exciting salad, Morning Star veggie burger, tiny sweet potato with cinnamon, clementine, a small hot cocoa, and a chocolate cranberry cookie. Dinner was about the same as we’re running low on what is in the refrigerator.

I had a salad beast with the rest of the lettuce, carrots, edamame, roasted red pepper hummus, a sprinkle of mozzarella Daiya, and some roasted mixed veggies. I also went with a glass of Malbec, a turkey burger that was broiled in the oven, a sweet potato with sprinkled cinnamon.

I was still hungry, so I went with 2 chocolate cranberry cookies (that’s a record 4 today) with an eat clean hot cocoa (what can I say, I’m addicted)! But at 112 calories for 2 cookies, what’s a girl to do? I can’t let them go bad.

The “eat clean” hot cocoa is:

  • 2 Tbsp cocoa
  • 1 Tbsp Truvia (add more if you like it sweeter)
  • sprinkle of sea salt
  • 1 cup almond milk (heated for 90 seconds)
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla

It’s SO good!!! Tonight, I rolled with my snowman mug. Goodnight, y’all! Sweet dreams. I’m off to watch Castle 😉 What are your favorite TV shows?

Quote of the day: (from a BodyPump poster at the gym) “Pressure makes diamonds.”

 

One Response to “The Nightmare Before Christmas…Zombies”

  1. […] A Parsnip and Quinoa Virgin No Longer December 8, 2010 Filed under: breakfast,coffee,dessert,dinner,lunch,oatmeal — ansauls @ 7:54 pm Hey y’all! I hope that you’re having a wonderful day! Sorry for being MIA yesterday. I was out and about and away from my computer. I needed some space after two and a half hours being attached to my laptop for  the IT guy to deal with the zombie. […]


Leave a Reply

