ashley avenue

a journey to healthy balance

iiii’m not myyyself tonight! December 14, 2010

Filed under: breakfast,coffee,dinner,oatmeal,vino — ansauls @ 11:06 pm
Tags: ,

Oh, how i have missed y’all! It has been a crazy fun couple of days. Put on your seatbelts for this one!

Breakfast Sunday was…coffee and oatmeal! (Are y’all getting SO bored with this combo? It’s just so perfect and easy in the morning.)

I had a little help this morning, as with most mornings 😉 Doc always comes inside in the mornings and lays on the floor while I’m cooking. He was not happy about this early-morning mug shot.

I think he wants some of this goodness…

In the “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” bowl…

  • 1/4 cup old-fashioned oats, water, almond milk, greek yogurt, pumpkin
  • 1 tsp chia seeds and Trader Joe’s peanut flour (this creates such a thickness that I really enjoy…plus flava)
  • sprinkle of sea salt and cinnamon
  • toppings: blueberries, Trader Joe’s pumpkin butter, crumbled “Everything but the Kitchen Sink” muffin, 1 Tbsp Naturally More

Sunday was my little sister’s ring ceremony at UNC-Chapel Hill. It was a proud experience for our family and a special one for me as I got to go back as an alum. They showed a “Carolina Is…” video that made me tear up and get goosebumps. With all the athletic drama that has gone on this year, it was nice to see what Carolina really is. I’m a Carolina girl!

My parents made SURPRISE dinner reservations, so she waited to open her ring box until dinner. It was such a blast not knowing where we were going and so sweet that my parents would plan this for us. Amber and I told them that we just wanted family time for Christmas (no gifts!) as we tell them every year. Times like these are the best Christmas present ever. We drove for a while and ended up pulling into Angus Barn!!! It’s a famous steakhouse in Raleigh that my sister and I had never been to. I may just have to let the pictures speak for themselves…

 

decorations

vino…Angus Barn Merlot (so good!)

 

 

 

 chefs preparing food

cute tile

appetizers

homemade crackers

wedge salad with pecans, carrots, sliced tomatoes, boiled egg, Roquefort blue cheese dressing on the side (amazing!)

7 oz. filet medium rare with plain sweet potato, and roasted tomato with parmesean (no gravy or brown sugar for me) 

                                                                                 

a few shrooms

then this arrived….dessert tray!

a plethora of desserts shared among the family…signature chocolate chess pie a la made, cappuccino cheesecake, sawdust pie (oats, coconut, banana, pecan, etc…to die for!)

 

coffee

 

nutcracker

gingerbread cookies and apples

family

I don’t normally eat salad dressing or red meat, but sometimes you just gotta go for it! Someone please pinch me! I feel like an undeserving princess! This is a delicacy for a fun night out with the family or for a date (hmmm….fellas!) or for any special occasion. I can’t wait to go back.

 

2 Responses to “iiii’m not myyyself tonight!”

  1. Erica Says:

    aw 🙂 Glad your sister’s ring ceremony and dinner were both so awesome! Just spending time with your family is SUPER important and such a great gift this time of year. Wedge salads are delicious. No salad dressings ever??? While I’m not a huge fan of the bottled stuff- I always enjoy a little salsa or olive oil and vinegar on my salads

  2. […] those of you who are new to the blog, read this recap of the AMAZING/DELICIOUS/DELECTABLE meal. I e-mailed them to tell them thank-you for a true dining […]


Leave a Reply

