ashley avenue

a journey to healthy balance

All Hail the Queen (City) December 15, 2010

I have been in Charlotte, hitting up the Queen City and doing a little of Santa’s work…if you know what I mean ūüėČ

In the car breakfast (I was riding this time, so it was much easer!) was part 2 of the YIAJ in the Naturally More jar.

In the mix:

  • 1 Tbsp Naturally More
  • 1/4 cup greek yogurt
  • crumbled “Everything but the Kitchen Sink” muffin
  • blueberries, pomegranate arils, 1/2 sliced banana
  • 1 Tbsp Trader Joe’s pumpkin butter
  • cinnamon on top

and some coffee

then I ate¬†a small¬†apple that I got from Angus Barn since I was not full. It’s just not as filling as oats! I got up early to do BodyPump, and I was hungry all day!

I somehow ended up here…

Lunch was my favorite little place at Southpark Mall…Blynk

I had a salad BEAST! Mixed greens with all the toppings that sounded good to me…if I can remember them all: roasted red peppers, eggplant, artichoke hearts, 2 olives, garbanzo¬†beans, edamame, goat cheese, mandarin oranges, red onion with no dressing. There was enough oil on a few of the veggies to count as dressing for me. I like all the texture, color, and flavor.

Then, I got to helping Santa ;). By the time I checked the time, my tummy was growling, so I stopped for a snack…

After a few samples, I rolled with pineapple yogurt (a first for me) with kiwi and strawberries. Great refresher!


Isn’t this a cute Kate Spade display?

I wanted grilled fish for dinner, so Mom chose Aquavina. It was within walking distance from our hotel, which was wonderful since it was 23 degrees! And it was right beside the ice skating rink, so we got to watch some ice skaters!

I started with a glass of Malbec.

I had a house salad, grilled mahi mahi with asparagus and butternut squash risotto. The mahi mahi was supposed to come with a butter sauce that I opted out of. The asparagus was, however, buttery, and the risotto was good but really heavy.

Mom and I shared a Chocolate Trio for dessert. She ate the truffle covered in coconut and walnuts, and I ate the flourless chocolate cake. We split the dark chocolate ice cream.

No meal is complete without coffee in my opinion…

Overall, the food was just OK , but the company was amazing!

We ended up meeting some people at the Lobby Bar for drinks. It has a really chill atmosphere, and football was on (did anyone watch the Houston game and see the overtime–what?!).

I just had a few sips of coffee and Bailey’s out of Mom’s cup. I did not really like it.

What have y’all been up to?

 

One Response to “All Hail the Queen (City)”

  1. Babygirl Says:

    Such a nice post.


Leave a Reply

