ashley avenue

a journey to healthy balance

Bad Girl December 23, 2010

Hey again! I wanted to share dinner from last night because it was something different and because I want y’all’s opinions. We tried a new restaurant. I was really wanting fish, then I read Blackberry Salmon on the menu. At first I was excited about the flavor combo, then I second guessed fruit and fish, but the flavor was from blackberry port reduction, so I gave it a shot.

My opinion: the salmon was well-prepared, the blackberry was interesting–you could really taste the port–but I don’t know if I’d order it again, and the double side of green beans I ordered (extra green beans instead of potatoes) were way over seasoned with garlic, parmesean cheese, and oil. The beans were a disappointment, but I did my best with them.

*******************************************************************************************************************

Today was a very special day for a very special 6-year-old in my life…

My Doodle Bug turned 6! I love our morning tradition of my making oats while he chills on the floor to keep me company beg for a taste.

I’m finally getting caught up on the blogging…

First of all workout: I got up early to do BodyPump then taught Zumba to some amazing ladies tonight.

Today I was a bad girl! My food choices were not great.

Breakfast: made some oats. I’ve really missed these the past 2 days being on the road!!! These were a healthy choice.

It was the usual mix, minus the chia seeds (because I forgot them…it’s amazing what you forget when you’re away from the routine for a few days hehe), topped with a “EBTKS” muffin, 1/2 sliced banana, Trader Joe’s pumpkin butter and Naturally More. It wasn’t as filling as normal today, maybe because I ate after working out and skipped dessert last night.

I never get tired of this mug/bowl! Oh, how I’ve missed pretty dishes! Plus, I had coffee 😉 What’s new, right?!

Mom and I went to Sweet Tomatoes for lunch today. It’s one of our favorites. I had a salad beast with more ingredients than I can remember, spinach and tomato soup, and a fruit medley muffin with some grapes. I saved the other muffin for later. My eyes had been bigger than my stomach.

And because I was saving room for this masterpiece…dark chocolate fro yo, chocolate muffin, vanilla fro yo with sprinkles. SOOOO YUMMY!!!

Mom’s was prettier than mine. Hey,  I got carried away!

Mom and I had our Christmas play day today aka shopping. We walked around for 4 hours and only made it through 1/2 of 1 mall (oops!). She’s the most wonderful Mom/friend ever, and I am so lucky to have her in my life. I treated us both to a medium Ho Ho Mint White Chocolate Mocha with whip cream from Caribou Coffee. I have been looking forward to the treat for a while. Today seemed like a good day to splurge!

I had a small apple a few hours later. For dinner, my family wanted chinese buffet, so I did my best with 2 few pieces of sushi with ginger and a plate of veggies and a little bit of chicken and shrimp. THEN I came home and had a cup of coffee and a big bowl of Oreo and Snickers ice cream cake. It seems like a lot of extra calories today…

 

Leave a Reply

