ashley avenue

a journey to healthy balance

Eating on the Go! December 23, 2010

Filed under: breakfast,coffee,lunch — ansauls @ 8:32 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

It seems like we’ve all been traveling a lot the past few weeks, so I thought I’d like to post on how I eat on the road.

1. Have gift cards from your Mom so that you can stop for coffee in case you aren’t staying in a hotel ūüėČ I splurged on Christmas blend…so good!

2. Take your tumbler to save $0.10 at Starbucks and to go green! Plus, it keeps your coffee warm and prevents spillage in the car.

3. I like to pack meals in containers that are almost empty¬†(i.e. yogurt¬†container below for breakfast) so that you can throw them in the recycling¬† and not have so much stuff in the car to wash when you get home…plus, it saves so much money.¬†Grocery stores are great to stop at too, if you don’t have any almost empty¬†containers at home, so you can buy a small portion size.

4. Save spoons from fro¬†yo or soup spoons when you go out or get take out to re-use them for times like these ūüėČ The fro yo ones are usually pretty colors! Hey, I have to have fun dishes for the road!

I just used the end of a greek yogurt container, crumbled up 2 “Everything But the Kitchen Sink” muffins and a banana.

5. ¬†Again, hummus is an easy container to pack, and I packed carrots, edamame, and celery in a container to munch on for lunch. These foods are easy to eat and not really messy.¬†It helps use the produce so you don’t leave it at home to go bad. Luckily, this time of year it’s cold enough to leave this goodness in the car; however, in the summer make sure you pack a freezer bag or ice pack, and I always pack extra plastic silverware so I can throw it away as I go, unless I have somewhere to wash dishes.

5.  Apples and Larabars = snack lifesavers!

I tried to have fun backgrounds for the photos…you have to get creative in the car ūüėČ

6.¬†Always pack dessert ūüėČ

Do you have any other ideas?

 

Leave a Reply

