ashley avenue

a journey to healthy balance

To Grandmother’s House We Go December 24, 2010

Happy Christmas Eve, y’all! What a fun day! I can’t decide which is better, Christmas morning, or the anticipation of it!

I began the day with a yummy oat breakfast…Christmas Eve style. (I really wanted to eat clean because I wanted to feel free to splurge a little at Christmas Eve dinner at my Mama’s.)

I rolled with the usual whipped banana chia mix sprinkled with pumpkin pie spice (which also doubles as gingerbread spice, I’ve discovered!) topped with blueberries, almond creme, Trader Joe’s pumpkin butter, an EBTKS muffin, and 2 crumbled Moravian cookies from a Christmas party. I really liked the flavor and crunch of the Moravian cookies after I crumbled them up in the mix.

I wish I could send you the smell of these through the computer. The gingerbread smell was tantalizing!

Then it was off to the gym–which was empty–for an hour of Step and then taught a Pump class. My sister came today! It’s always fun to teach to family members…at least for me!

Amber and I ran errands then met Mom and Daddy at Chick-fil-a for lunch. I rolled with the Chargrilled and Fruit salad with granola and no dressing. The colors are pretty 😉

Our family’s Christmas Eve tradition is that we go across the driveway to Mama’s house for dinner with my Dad’s family. The meal is traditionally salad,

lasagna,

dessert,

and now that I’m “of age,” Christmas wine from Duplin Vineyards (mine is the glass in the center).

Here’s my portions for dinner…

x2

x2

and some fruit salad that Mama and I made together

It’s a yummy and easy recipe of apples, pecans, coconut, mini marshmallows, mandarin oranges, pineapple, raisins, all covered in 12 oz. of strawberry Greek yogurt. You can kind of do everything to taste.

We sat around for a while and let the food settle.

Then it was time for presents…woohoo!

I got a new gym bag from my Aunt and Uncle with tons of Bath & Body Works goodies in it, mascara from Gussie (I just happened to have run out today…sweet!), $ from my grandparents, and a cute Santa and fuzzy leopard socks from my cousin who shopped on his own. I am the luckiest, least deserving girl ever! My family knows me so well…it’s so great!

Then things got CrAzzzzzy…

My sister and I sang some karaoke, I had a great catch-up with my friend from Charleston about some amazing blessings God gave him tonight, finished last-minute wrapping (it’s about time, huh?!), and now this is my view…

I’m going to try to go to sleep, but I’m sooooo excited about tomorrow morning!!!! Do y’all still get excited about Christmas morning?

 

3 Responses to “To Grandmother’s House We Go”

  1. Merry Christmas! Cute pictures!! 🙂

  2. […] I tasted her pancakes and ham, but I made my own breakfast of leftover yogurt fruit salad from last night with added blueberries and Naturally More (I went all day yesterday without any, believe it or […]


Leave a Reply

