ashley avenue

a journey to healthy balance

Detox and Refuel January 1, 2011

Hey y’all! I hope that everyone is feeling great this morning (or afternoon).

I loved yesterday’s breakfast so much that I figured it was the perfect way to start off 2011.

Plus a little inspiration for you this morning…(background plate)

However, as you may notice, there’s a new tumbler in town. It’s my “inspiration tumbler” from 2010. I drink coffee every morning, so I figured why not make my tumbler into an inspiration mug. 2011’s inspiration post is coming soon 😉 (It got some moisture in it over the year 😦 )

All I had to drink last night was a bite of a raspberry jello shooter and half a glass of champagne at midnight, but there was a 2-hour detox at One Heart Yoga this morning, so I went.

It was 2 glorious, strenuous hours of 88 degree-temperature, stretching, breathing. Thank-you, Mira! She is such a wonderful teacher, so calming and challenging. I tried some new poses and pushed myself. Mira was really helpful for adjustments on a few poses. She really helped me feel the poses more. Isn’t the blue and green so inspiring. I’m going to start teaching Zumba in this space in January, and I got to meet some other yoga instructors at the studio today as well.

Home for a light lunch…

On my drive home, I began craving a green monster, so I went straight for the blender (wish I had a VitaMix!) when I walked through the doors.

In the blender:

  • 2 big handfuls of organic baby spinach
  • 3/4 cup frozen mixed fruit (strawberries, mangoes, pineapple, peaches)
  • some almond milk for desired consistency (not sure how much I used)
  • 2 Tbsp flax meal
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder

Plus a snack plate of carrots with roasted red pepper hummus, celery with Naturally More and Angus Barn cheddar.

The perfect fuel after detoxing…protein, fat, and carbs!

Now it’s football time…Gators (Coach Meyer’s last game) vs. Penn State. Go Gators!!!! I have to be loyal to Tim Tebow’s team 😉

How’s everyone recovering doing this morning?

 

Leave a Reply

