ashley avenue

a journey to healthy balance

Real Inspiration January 2, 2011

My Mom graciously got me a Real Simple subscription for Christmas. It’s my favorite magazine! The January 2011 issue to chock full of great recipes. Last night, I was inspired to try butternut squash and kale. I’m going to try to cook foods I’m “afraid” of this year as part of getting out of my comfort zone.

The kale in the skillet…

 

…and on the plate

 

Butternut squash out of the oven…

 

…and on the plate, topped with a little cinnamon

 

My plate…kale, piece of Daddy’s pork, butternut squash, and black-eyed peas with onions. Do y’all do black-eyed peas for New Year’s? It’s one of our traditions…something to do with how much money you’ll make in the year ahead.

 

I sipped some Naughty & Nice while we had dinner. In the background is the inspiration meal from Real Simple.

 

And dessert…sexy yogurt (greek with cinnamon) topped with 3 pecans from New Year’s par-tay, a piece of Angus Barn chocolate chess, and half caf.

 

I have had some REAL INSPIRATION for breakfast by Kath lately with nuts in her oatmeal, so I dedicate breakfast to her today 😉

 

In the oats today…

  • ¼ cup oats, water, almond milk
  • 1/8 cup greek yogurt
  • ½ smashed banana
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • ¼ tsp maple flavoring (my newest obsession…I wish y’all could smell it cookin’!)
  • Sprinkles of cinnamon and sea salt
  • Toppings (I went a little crazy today!): 5 sugared pecans, blueberries, peanut flour banana sauce, a little pumpkin seed raisin granola for crunch, 5 dried cherries for texture

 

…and some Blah Blah Blend. I made it really strong today, and it was amazing!!! However, I am feeling the caffeine now L

 

It was an AMAZINGLY YUMMY breakfast after my workout of Zumba Tone (Zumba with 5 lb. weights) and 10 minutes-ish of abs! I have been struggling for a while with feeling like I’m not doing enough on my workouts, not pushing myself hard enough or burning enough calories. For example, this morning I wanted to jump on the Treadclimber for cardio, but I decided to go do my quiet time instead. Taking these thoughts captive and checking my priorities are going to be a challenge. Do y’all experience anything similar or have advice?

Have you been REALly inspired? By anyone in blog world? 😉 (P.s. – I. LOVE. Y’all!!)

 

2 Responses to “Real Inspiration”

  1. Kath Says:

    🙂 Thanks for the shout out!

  2. cbrady3 Says:

    Hey love! The WHOLE blog world inspired me to get healthy!
    And totally feel you on wanting to do more at the gym. For me it’s cardio – ie why I hop on the elliptical after a 3 mile run. I really should use that time to get in some good strength training, but when you are used to longer runs 3 miles doesn’t feel good enough!
    Proud of you for taking quiet time instead. It’s good for your body too:)


Leave a Reply

