ashley avenue

a journey to healthy balance

Super (Woman) Foods! January 3, 2011

Hey y’all! Sorry about the late post today, but check out this today list…

I don’t know what happened to me today, but I feel like Super Woman…so motivated and productive! WOOHOO!

I had an amazing workout this morning of RPM, BodyPump, and BodyFlow. For the first time in a long time, I felt strong and so lucky anad happy to be working out. Because of family in town/family schedules/snow, I’ve been working out in our home gym, and it was so great to get back to the “real” gym.

Today’s eats (so far hehe)…

Breakfast oatmeal! I had plans for a smoothie this morning, but when my feet hit the chilly floor to find a blistering 28 degrees outside, I decided I needed something warm in my bones 😉

Old habits die hard, I guess! I think oatmeal is like my spinach for Popeye 😉 hehe

Today’s mix of “power-meal” included:

  • 1/4 cup old-fashioned oats, water, almond milk, greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • sprinkle of sea salt, cinnamon
  • toppings: peanut flour banana sauce, goji berries, 3 sugared pecans, dried cherries, Nature’s Path pumpkin seed raisin cereal for crunch!

And something warm (and inspiring) to drink…

After that workout, I was hungry (but not ill or rude!), so I showered and came down to heat up leftovers. It’s so great when there are healthy leftovers waiting in the frige for you. I usually cook extra when I make stuff for that reason alone 😉

Leftover butternut squash sprinkled with cinnamon, leftover kale, a veggie burger topped with leftover roasted red pepper hummus. YummY!

And lunch dessert 😉

Grapes and leftover peanut flour banana sauce in a jar (PFBSIAJ). I only used 1/2 the banana this morning and saved the other half for lunch.

I sipped on some half caf too 😉

I heard on Good Morning America  a segment on superfoods women should eat at different ages. I am experimenting with these foods in my diet. In your 20s or 30s according to them, you should eat green garbanzo beans for folic acid, pumpkin seeds for iron, and kale for calcium. I have never had the green garbanzo beans though I like regular ones and hummus ;). Just today I have had kale (LOVED it!), and granola/oat cereal with pumpkin seeds. I don’t like plain pumpkin seeds, or haven’t learned how to properly cook them.

For women in their 30s and 40s were suggested to eat chia seeds for omega 3s (I have them in oatmeal every morning!), brussels sprouts for vitamin C (I’m planning on making them for dinner), and pistachios for antioxidants (snack later?). Women 50 or older were suggested to eat black rice for vitamin E (I’m going to buy some at Whole Foods tomorrow to try for my Mom), tart cherries for antioxidants (I had some dried cherries in my oats this morning), and teff for fiber (haven’t heard of this before).

So, I need to try teff and green garbanzo beans. Super foods are intriguing to me. What do y’all think?

Off to cross some more off that to do list!

 

Leave a Reply

