ashley avenue

a journey to healthy balance

Learning to Listen January 13, 2011

Filed under: almond milk,breakfast,coffee,lunch,veggies,Zumba — ansauls @ 3:47 pm
Tags: , ,

Hey y’all! Happy Thursday! How’s your day going?

I teach Pump at 6 a.m. on Thursdays, so I knocked that out with some fun ladies this morning. On my way home, I was thinking about breakfast and could NOT decide what I wanted (except coffee!), so this ended up happening:

Breakfast “Cereal”

  • 3/4 cup Nature’s Path Pumpkin Seed & Raisin cereal
  • sliced nanner
  • 1 Tbsp  Sunflower Butter
  • some Trader Joe’s Cranberry Apple butter
  • 5 raw almonds
  • a few goji berries and cacao nibs
  • crumbled Rise & Shine muffin (no breakfast is complete without one hehe)
  • just a little almond milk to wet the muffin and cereal (I do not like ‘smushy’ cereal. I like the crunch!)

Amazing texture.  I can’t believe I used to be OK with “normal cereal” for breakfast…if I’d only known what I was missing!

I had a great quiet time in Experiencing God and studied most of the morning. I learned a lot about fats today…trans fat, saturated/unsaturated, and omega 3 and 6. It’s so interesting but difficult!

When my tummy started growling, I headed down for the lunch I’d been dreaming of all day! I knew exactly what I wanted (YAY!)…leftovers! It looks like a lot of food to me.

  • Brussels sprouts
  • 1/2 sweet potato with organic baked beans
  • the other half of the Trader Joe’s “Chicken-less Pulled Chicken”

YUMMMMMMMMMMY! And very little prep and clean-up work!

Back to studying and planning for tonight’s Zumba class until savory snack time 😉

I started with this, but ended up only eating a few pistachios, 8 carrots, a little Moroccan hummus (not too much the carrots were just so good by themselves!), a few pieces of celery (the Angus Barn crock may or may not have made a little appearance). I just ate until I was satisfied, not too full and I didn’t make myself eat exactly what I pulled out. Learning to listen to my body is a 2011 goal…getting there! Sorry that I didn’t put it on a dish. I’m in a lazy  I don’t want to do the dishes mood today 😉

I’m teaching a dance to Waka Waka by Shakira tonight! Woohoo!!!

What are y’all up to tonight?

 

2 Responses to “Learning to Listen”

  1. Erica Says:

    Glad pump went well this morning! And yummy lunch. I ❤ brussels. They may be my favorite veggie. I'm absolutely exhausted! So after the usual business tonight, I plan to just relax!

  2. ansauls Says:

    my favorite veggie too! i was exhausted today too…maybe it’s the early morning 😉 enjoy relaxing!


Leave a Reply

