ashley avenue

a journey to healthy balance

Addicted to Juicing January 17, 2011

What’s up, buttercups? How was your day? Were you off work/school?

Yay for a yummy bowl of oats and a hot cup of chai tea for breakfast! I’m loving the tea!

In the mix today:

  • 1/4 cup old-fashioned oats, almond milk, water, greek yogurt (added in at the end)
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • sprinkle of sea salt and cinnamon
  • 1/2 smashed nanner
  • toppings: crumbled Rise & Shine muffin, blueberries, soaked almonds, Trader Joe’s cranberry apple butter, Naturally More

YUMMY in my tummy!!!!

Workout today: 45 minutes of RPM and a BodyPump class this morning, and taught Zumba tonight.

Snack post-morning workout: the other half of my green juice from yesterday and a Gala apple. It’s like instant life!

Lunch today was a splurge because everyone was home because of the holiday. So, we went to…

Natty Green’s is a southern pub and a local brewery. As always when I go to a brewery, I try a local brew. Today I rolled with Buckshot Amber Ale. It had really good hints of caramel and toffee and wasn’t super filling.

Appetizer, which I have been craving for a few weeks! NACHOS! but not just any nachos…THE BIG NASTY! I like when restaurants use blue corn chip for nachos instead of regular flour chip. The chili on them had a hint of sweetness. I definitely had my fair share.

My meal was a bison burger (such a treat and so rare to find!) with just grilled onions and mushrooms on top, a pickle, and a side of veggie sticks. They were really accommodating to my request for no cheese, bun, or mayo, and I LOVE a restaurant that has veggie sticks (aka carrots and celery) as a side. The bison was de-lish, no grease like beef but a little more flavor than turkey or chicken! I’ve needed that protein today.

As you can tell, lunch was DEFINITELY NOT a clean or raw meal, and I paid for it all afternoon. I have felt miserable. Why do splurge even though it tastes good? Mira made an interesting comment about how our flesh fights what we should do with what it wants. I struggle with knowing how to pull back and when to indulge with my family because they don’t buy into eating raw or clean, and I feel singled out a lot of time…any advice?

After Zumba, even though I wasn’t super hungry after that huge lunch, I decided my body needed life aka fruit and veggies ASAP to get rid of this ickiness I feel. I juiced a handful of cherry tomatoes, 4 baby carrots, 1/2 apple, handful of spinach, 1 cup water, Twisted Power powder, and 2 small pieces of celery that I had left in the blender. Then to eat, I steamed Brussels sprouts, carrots, cauliflower, and broccoli and ate the other half of my apple. For dessert, a small bowl of berries with a Ball of Energy and a cup of Bedtime tea.

I already feel energized and a little better after just 30 minutes or so. WOW! This juicing technique is the jam!

Do y’all have any favorite juice mixes? I’m up for trying anything?

Sweet dreams. See y’all tomorrow!

 

8 Responses to “Addicted to Juicing”

  1. cbrady3 Says:

    Good for you for “splurging” – although that still seemed pretty darn healthy with no bun or cheese!
    My family doesn’t buy into clean eating either and honestly makes me feel horrible about it…they tell me I’m not “living” when personally I feel my BEST when I’m eating clean!
    I see there point – which is why I often indulge, have pizza with them, etc — but you have to do what’s best for you!

  2. ansauls Says:

    The nachos and beer were the splurge for sure. Same with my family. It’s challenging to find that balance when I know how I’ll feel afterwards. I’m always here for you if you need to chat, Clare Bear (I suddenly just felt the need to call you Clare Bear…hehe sorry!). i thought about you last week. i did a quick treadmill run 😉

  3. Erica Says:

    Glad you had such a nice day! I wasn’t off of work, but it was a pretty easy day- so no complaints. I love a good plate of nachos every now and again. Josh and I like different parts of nachos, so we’re a good team 😉 Hope you have a good rest of the week

  4. Lindsay Says:

    It’s hard to find that balance when it comes to family and friends, especially when they don’t quite understand your motives or reasons for choosing to eat the way you do. But I think you’re doing a great job! You make healthy and satisfying meals at home and indulge every once in a while. And if your body is “craving” something like that, then giving in once in awhile is definitely not a bad thing! You just have to do what is best for you. My husband tries to eat well, but he doesn’t quite “get it” in the same way that I do. We sort of balance each other out – he keeps me from getting too extreme with my eating/diet and I help him from getting out of control with his bad eating 🙂 As for blender juice – I love using cantaloupe, kiwi, fresh mint, and leafy greens (spinach and kale). The mint makes it so yummy! You can add 1/2 banana or a 1/2 avocado to make it a bit creamier. (And Carter loves them, too – it’s the only way I can sneak veggies in!!) Have a good day

  5. YUUUUM – crumbled muffins for breakfast.
    Balls of energy.
    Blueberries.
    Would you adopt me?
    Hahahaha 😀


Leave a Reply

