ashley avenue

a journey to healthy balance

Is this real life? January 19, 2011

Howdy y’all! (We did an American country mix at Zumba tonight, and I have it on the brain 😉 )

WHAT. A. DAY!

Let’s begin with breakfast: a bowl of everything raw in my kitchen 😉 well, sort of.

In the polka dot bowl:

  • 1 cup of mixed berries (blueberries, raspberries, strawberries)
  • smashed nanner
  • a few soaked pistachios and almonds (soaking nuts adds SO much flavors and helps with enzyme breakdown)
  • 1/2 organic apple
  • a few old-fashioned oats just plain
  • sprinkle of sexy spice (no one says you can’t be sexy at breakfast!)
  • almond milk to wet everything, but definitely not soaked (I love texture and crunch)

It was so yummy!

For lunch, I met my little sister for lunch in Chapel Hill. We tried Sandwhich for the first time. We both had the GMC…Amber as a sandwich and me as a salad without the bun and without cheese. The description is “Ashley Farms chicken breast grilled to order, grilled red onions, roasted peppers, our pesto, melted provolone on handmade hoagie.” It was Ashley Farms…how could we resist? 😉 The chicken was great, but I’m still deciding how I feel about truly eating raw and the adjustments that may mean for my diet. I’m so glad that they let me do it as a salad that came dry, which was great by me. The greens were fresh and crunchy, the pesto was a treat. It was a little pricey for me for lunch at $9.16 with tax. Amber wished it had come with a bigger side. It was just a few seasoned carrots…good!

And dessert…a staple: Yogurt Pump. I rolled with a small cake cone of Tahitian vanilla (my favorite!) and Oreo.

I got a hair cut, had a quick snack, ran some errands, and then went to teach Zumba at One Heart Yoga. I had some super fun new ladies!

After a hose off aka shower hehe, dinner is served…

A grain bowl of leftover quinoa-broccoli pilaf, a veggie burger with goat cheese over mixed green and tomatoes, leftover steamed veggies (aren’t leftovers SO great?!), and a piece of cinnamon raisin Ezekiel bread with 1 tsp Trader Joe’s Superfruit spread. (I’m craving carbs!) I had cucumber water to hydrate. One thing I learned from Mira is that adding something to water helps your body get more from it so it just doesn’t pass right through. I’m not a huge lemon water fan, but I do love the cucumber “flavor.”

And dessert…a little bowl of 1/2 organic apple, little but of greek yogurt, 4 soaked raw almonds, sexy spice, a few old-fashioned oats (I guess I missed my oatmeal this morning), and a square of 85% cocoa chocolate peaking up in the background.

plus an organic pear and 1 more square of 85% cocoa chocolate. Why am i so hungry?!

OK, so BIGGGGGG news!!!!!

1. I got this black beauty today…

2. We’re going to DISNEY WORLD for spring break!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Am I the luckiest girl princess in the world or what?!

P.S. – I don’t share this to look like a selfish brat, but just to let y’all know how blessed I am and how much God has gone above and beyond to surprise me and done WAY ABOVE & BEYOND what I could EVER imagine. Once I finally surrendered all to Him, He’s been able to work both in and through me in ways I never thought possible. Be encouraged!

It’s Off the Map for me, then sweet sweet dreams. I wish y’all the same! Let me know how you are.

 

4 Responses to “Is this real life?”

  1. Erica Says:

    oh my gosh! Congrats on the car! Its beautiful! And you know I’m obsessed with Disney. Y’all are going to have SUCH a blast. Lots of tasty eats today. The salad looks great. I love when restaurants let you convert a sandwich to a salad. Hope today is just as fantastic

    • ansauls Says:

      thank-YOU! i’m truly so blessed. i’ve never thought about converting sandwiches to salads, but i’ll definitely do that a lot more often! YOU have a beautifully blessed day today as well. xoxoxoxoxo

  2. cbrady3 Says:

    Such exciting news! Hope you love the car AND Disney!

  3. […] studied til my tummy was growling, then lunch, which was exactly the same as last night’s grain bowl for […]


Leave a Reply

