ashley avenue

a journey to healthy balance

Childhood Favorites January 22, 2011

Good evening, my loves!

Yes, I did go with the usual last night at Bass Lake Draft House…grilled salmon with double veggies.

I skipped restaurant dessert, but when we got home, I wanted something before bed to keep my metabolism up, so I had an apple sprinkled with cinnamon, some warm almond milk (a childhood favorite), and a Ball of Energy sandwich (aka 85% cocoa chocolate square + Ball of Energy + another square). The chocolate melts when you dunk it in warm milk, but I wouldn’t know that from experience ūüėČ

I don’t know if it’s knowing that I am going to Disney World or what, but I have been craving childhood favorites lately…with a twist!

First up, when I was little, my favorite lunch was peanut butter and jelly. Maybe it was because I could help make it, it was my Mom’s favorite, or because¬†it was like dessert at lunch time. So, this morning, I made PB&J Oats!…although not with JIF¬†and Smuckers like when I was little.

“PB&J With A Twist” Oats in a Jar

There’s a little something in my heart that jumps when there’s about 1-2 tbsp of nut butter left in a jar because it means that OIAJ is not far. ūüėČ

In today’s mix:

  • 1/4 cup oats, water, almond milk, greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 smashed banana
  • sprinkles of sea salt and cinnamon
  • splash of maple extract
  • toppings: 2 tbsp Naturally More in the bottom of the jar, 1 tbsp Trader Joe’s Cranberry Apple Butter (my “jelly”), cacao nibs

How do y’all feel about extracts? Are the awful for you or OK? Should I just use regular maple syrup to flavor my oats?

We had LAUNCH for all our Les Mills programs today at O2 Fitness, which means brand spankin’ new choreography to new music that all the instructors have been practicing for a couple of months. I got to launch BodyPump¬†76 and take the new BodyCombat¬†and BodyFlow. Combat was my favorite release ever, and Flow had some great tracks as well.

[Source]

The music rocks because it’s so sassy!

I was a hungry girl when I got home, and because it was later than normal for me to eat lunch, my family was hungry too! YAY! And I present to you…lunch: cucumber water, a mug of soup (I ended up eating about half of it), a salad beast with the rest of my leftovers (edamame, mixed veggies, celery, cucs, carrots, a little bit of hummus, goat cheese, grape tomatoes), a pear, and a piece of Ezekiel toast with some Trader Joe’s Superfruit spread.

Amber and I went to church tonight for an incredibly entertaining yet challenging¬†sermon on self-destruction through sexual sin. Then, it was home for Mom’s Birthday Bash at our building. I felt freedom to make my own food to take, so I made some steamed Brussels sprouts, a micro-sweet potato (I know microwave is not the best cooking method, but I needed some quick food to take out), and a piece of my Daddy’s pork tenderloin about the size of the deck of cards, and boy, was it tender. I also took some greek yogurt topped with 1/2 banana, 3 strawberries, and some blueberries out there for dessert and passed on cake as it tastes great going down, but the sugar rush I have to pay for later isn’t worth it.¬†I was nervous about bringing my own food to a party, but it went over flawlessly as no one questioned me. I figured I’d spare you the image since it’s pretty basic.

Are there any foods that you are “uncomfortable” eating?

 

3 Responses to “Childhood Favorites”

  1. Erica Says:

    Launches are so much fun! I miss teaching bahhh! I did get to take Body Step low yesterday though and that was fabulous! Gotta take care of myself for the baby;) PB&J is such a classic lunch option. Just delicious. Extracts are fine for you! Just try and get pure vs. imitation

  2. Lindsay Says:

    Body Combat was soooooo great!!!! Loved it – wish I could have stayed for all of pump, but I was really tired from the first two classes and I felt my form starting to go. I’m really pleased with all of the releases – great music and lots of fun. Body Step was fun, but not as challenging as past releases ( I think). My snack last night: An apple with cinnamon and almond milk ūüôā Haha

    • ansauls Says:

      girl, i am so proud of you! it’s not worth it to stay and jeopardize your body. plus, we’re doing that choreo 2 weeks! YAY for being snack twins! i hope that i get to see you this week!!! xoxoxoxo


Leave a Reply

