ashley avenue

a journey to healthy balance

Calorie Counting January 26, 2011

What’s up, buttercups?! How’s your hump day been? Mine was fantastico…until I calorie counted.

Beginning with breakfast:

A Bowl of Goodness

  • 3/4 cup Nature’s Path Organic  Pumpkin Seed Raisin Cereal
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • peanut flour banana sauce
  • cacao nibs
  • sliced strawberries
  • blueberries
  • goji berries
  • cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup almond milk

Mix all together and enjoy!

I went to do RPM and BodyFlow at the gym then off to Starbucks to study with a Lemon Pie Larabar that paired lovely with some Earl Grey tea. I’m trying different teas to see what I like, and this one was good.

 

After studying for a few hours, I met my friend Melissa for a late lunch at Cafe Carolina. I got the Cafe Carolina Signature salad: “a unique blend of flavors available exclusively at Cafe Carolina! mixed greens with mandarin oranges, strawberries, dried cranberries, raisins, pineapple, pecans and gorgonzola cheese tossed with our poppy seed dressing and croutons.” YUMMY! They only use a little dressing, and it’s served with a sweet potato biscuit 😉 I didn’t eat the croutons. I just pulled up the nutrition info on this beast and WHOA…almost a 1300 calorie lunch for the salad, dressing, and biscuit. OUCH!

I’ve been in a tea mood all day as it’s been so chilly and rainy outside, so I had some chamomile tea on the side.

After teaching an amazingly fun group of women at Zumba tonight, I was ready for some dinner. Tonight that meant about 1/3 of Amy’s Roasted Vegetable Pizza with no cheese, a salad beast (herb greens, sliced cucs, 4 grape tomatoes, tabouli, hummus, a few carrots), a smoothie, and some mint water.

Smoothie for Today (inspired by my friend Mira’s)

  • 1 cup coconut water
  • a few sliced strawberries
  • blueberries
  • a few slices of kiwi
  • Twisted Power Powder from Whole Foods
  • 1/2 sliced nanner
  • cinnamon
  • goji berries

 

Here’s Mira’s just to inspire y’all: Banana, blueberries, mango, hemp seeds, maca, vitamineral earth powder, cinnamon, gojis, almond mylk and loooove. She’s the best!

And dessert: organic fuji apple with a little greek yogurt and apple pie spice heated, a 100% unsweetened chocolate square, and an energy ball.

It was just OK. I’m feeling like I ate a lot of calories today..hmmmmm. How do y’all handle calorie counting?

Also, I am blogging about my team’s trip to South Africa here: http://southafricamedicalmission2011.blogspot.com/. Check it out and subscribe for changes if you want to keep up with us. I’ll be blogging from South Africa on this site once we get there.

Off to watch Off the Map with my Mom and then off to bed as I teach 6 a.m. BodyPump tomorrow. Sweet dreams, y’all!

 

6 Responses to “Calorie Counting”

  1. Erica Says:

    girlie! You did three classes today! Your body needs calories to function. Take it easy on you over there 😉 The Cafe Carolina Signature salad looks delicious. And I love apples heated in the micro- tastes like apple pie to me!

  2. Lindsay Says:

    Hey Ashley! I was just talking about the same thing with my hubby last night. I was telling him how I just HAVE to eat at night and I struggle to NOT feel guilty about it. I don’t really calorie count, but I try to guesstimate. And while I crave healthy snacks at night, it can still easily add on 300 + calories a day. When you work really hard at the gym, you don’t want to “throw away” your hard work by eating too much. But at the same time, you really do need to feed your metabolism so that you have enough fuel to do the workouts and stay healthy. So I just try to balance it out. I know that having a high calorie day isn’t going to negate all of the hard work. Having ten high calorie days in a row might, but one here or there isn’t going to. And isn’t it so frustrating when you order a salad, only to find out that it has more calories than half of the things on the menu??? I hardly ever order salads at restaurants for that reason. The calories on your salad, I’m guessing, mostly came from the dressing and the dried fruit (probably sugar sweetened). My fave salad dressing at home lately has been hummus and balsamic. I mix them together until I have a nice creamy dressing and it’s so good 🙂 Okay – I’ll stop with the novel. Have a good day!

    • ansauls Says:

      THANK-YOU SO MUCH for your comment. We seriously need to hang out outside of the gym to really talk. I struggle with that same thing at night, and it’s funny, my metabolism is ready for breakfast more in the morning if i have a snack vs. not having one. You are right about the calories. What a great dressing suggestion! Thanks! You can write me a “novel” anytime, love! I missed you at Combat today!

  3. cbrady3 Says:

    Hey Honey – I know how it feels to get down when you think you ate too much, but you did THREE WORKOUT CLASSES! Your body needs more energy!
    And while that day may have been a little more than the bare minimum that you need, it all evens out. You’ll have a day when you don’t get quite enough. There is no need to worry –you will stay just a beautiful as ever!


Leave a Reply

