ashley avenue

a journey to healthy balance

The Power of Suggestion January 29, 2011

Filed under: breakfast,Happy Bowl,lunch,RPM,salad beast,veggies,working out — ansauls @ 2:27 pm
Tags:

Happy Saturday, my loves! What are y’all up to today? Anything surprising and super fun? The weather is soooo much prettier here. Literally, it was 28* when I woke up this morning and is supposed to get to 58*. WHAT?!

So, dinner last night ended up being a local steakhouse because my Daddy saw a special Travel Channel episode on steak yesterday 😉 Oh, the power of suggestion 😉

The meal began with a “40-compartment salad bar” that they have. I love a good salad; it’s the perfect start to any meal. I piled it high (you should have seen the pathetic excuse for a bowl they had). I guess I should’ve aimed smaller, but I wanted so many toppings on that lettuce ;)…blueberries, cottage cheese, 1 slice of tomato, 2 broccoli florets, banana peppers, mixed fruit (which came out of its own juice and something I don’t do usually, but I really wanted some fruit on this beast), 1 slice of beet, a little crumbled egg, red onions, a few olives.

Then on to the main event (yes, I did it)…a 6 oz. filet and a plain baked sweet potato.

I was so full that I didn’t even want dessert (Have I been getting too many calories this week? I’m wondering!), but I did get some decaf coffee. You can’t resist when…

So, even though it’s been over a week since I have had any coffee…the power of suggestion…

I like how the bold taste of coffee compliments red meat. It was either that or red wine 😉 However, I have had this coffee before, and this wasn’t as tasty as I remember. I had a few of these little cups. My family ordered Hot Fudge Sundae Cheesecake for dessert, but I didn’t try any. They liked it a lot.

This morning began with the rest of my “Pretty-in-Pink (Lindsay) Smoothie” topped with a few cacao nibs for garnish…

…and a Sexy Bowl: sliced avocado, 2 chopped dates, organic fuji apple, 1 tbsp tahini (my first time everrrr!), and sexy spice.

At first, I wasn’t sure about the tahini, but it really grew on me. What do y’all use it in? I like this new ingredient!

Y’all be honest with me…does this seem like too big of a breakfast? I concerned about overeating this week since I haven’t been as hungry. :/

Workout today: RPM Plus (the 60-minute format), a quick core class, and BodyPump. AND I got to see my friend Lindsay! We usually miss each other during the week because of our schedules, so it was fun to pedal beside her this morning. (Enjoy Angus Barn for me, Linds! Go ahead, your deserve it!)

I didn’t know what I wanted for lunch, and I was surprised that I wasn’t hungry, but I ended up eating a random mix…

1/2 navel orange, 5 baby carrots, a few steamed broccoli florets that I had leftover, about 1/4 of a can of rinsed black beans for protein, 3 pieces of celery, 1 tbsp original tahini hummus, and 2 tbsp tabouli.

***I’m going to try to start measuring more stuff so that I can give y’all exact amounts and so I can start being more sure of not using too much of anything.***

Dessert: 1/2 frozen banana blended with a splash of almond milk topped with a mix of dark chocolate cocoa and a teeny squirt of light agave. I love the combo of banana and chocolate (and nute butter, but I layed off hehe)

Off to church…

DVRing my Heels vs. the Pack to watch when I get back. I think we’re doing fish for dinner, and it’s snack time! Yippeeeee!

Love,

me

 

3 Responses to “The Power of Suggestion”

  1. cbrady3 Says:

    Hey girlie – not being super hungry is a GOOD thing! It means you’re fueling your body properly! Granted when a few hours have passed and its meal time, you should be ready to eat, but being RAVENOUS all day means you weren’t getting enough before! 🙂

    And the only thing I’ve ever used tahini in is homemade hummus.

  2. Lindsay Says:

    Hey! It was great pedaling beside you, too! Though I want you to let loose the next time – let those pedals fly!! 🙂 It really is freeing in a way – I just close my eyes, feel the burn, and go as fast as I can. Try it! It’s good to give your body different challenges in RPM 🙂
    No – your breakfast is not too much food at all! You have to think about it like this – if you saw someone eating a small bowl of yogurt, a bowl of mixed fruit, and a few nuts would you think that they were eating too much? Absolutely not! You have the same assortment of food, but presented differently. If you can take the same amount/type of food and make a variety of delicious and creative meals out of it to enjoy, then go for it! The food is more fun that way 🙂
    Angus Barn was so yummy! They even took us on a tour of the wine cellar which was so great. Carter was taken to the kitchen to make his own ice cream sundae. And I absolutely went for it – all of it! Crackers, cheese (I think I ate my weight in cheese), spinach salad, filet, sweet potato….and…..CHESS PIE!! (might have been a la mode) haha 🙂 See you soon

    • ansauls Says:

      Hey Lindsay!

      Yeah, I need to get over taking off resistance and letting it go in RPM. I just always feel like I am not wokring if I don’t add a lot resistance.

      Thanks for your comments, as always! YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY for Angus Barn. They are the BEST…so classy! I’m so proud of you for GOING FOR IT! The cheese is to die for (speaking of, I need a crock refill hehe). How was the wine cellar? That’s SO cute about Carter. Again, they are top notch class act! What did you think abou the chess pie? To die for, right?! And a la mode is a must! I hope you had it warmed too! See you soon!


Leave a Reply

